Home > The holy trinities

The holy trinities

Theological Holy Trinity

In Christian theology, the Holy Trinity refers to the Father, the Son (Jesus Christ), and the Holy Spirit as three persons in one Godhead. This is a central doctrine in most Christian faiths.

Trimurti in Hinduism: As mentioned earlier, in Hinduism, the Trimurti comprises Brahma (the creator), Vishnu (the preserver), and Shiva (the destroyer). They represent different aspects of the universe and the cycle of creation, preservation, and destruction.

Three Jewels in Buddhism: In Buddhism, the concept of the “Three Jewels” or “Triple Gem” refers to the Buddha (the enlightened one), the Dharma (the teachings), and the Sangha (the community of monks and nuns). These are central tenets in Buddhist belief and practice.

Three Pure Ones in Taoism: In Taoism, the Three Pure Ones are the highest deities, representing different aspects of the Tao or the supreme state of being. They are Yuanshi Tianzun (the Celestial Worthy of Primordial Beginning), Lingbao Tianzun (the Celestial Worthy of Numinous Treasure), and Daode Tianzun (the Celestial Worthy of the Way and its Power).

The Christian Trinity: In Christian theology, the Holy Trinity is a unique and central doctrine, referring to God in three persons: the Father, the Son (Jesus Christ), and the Holy Spirit. This is not a representation of three gods but one God in three persons, coexisting in a mysterious and incomprehensible unity.

Egyptian Triads: Ancient Egyptian religion often worshipped gods in groups of three, known as triads. For example, the triad of Osiris, Isis, and Horus was very prominent in Egyptian mythology, each member representing different aspects of life, death, and resurrection.

Triple Goddess in Neopaganism: In some forms of Neopaganism, such as Wicca, the Triple Goddess is a central figure represented by the Maiden, Mother, and Crone. Each aspect symbolizes a stage in the female life cycle and a phase of the Moon.

Zoroastrianism: While not a trinity in the strictest sense, Zoroastrianism emphasizes three principles that guide human action: Good Thoughts, Good Words, and Good Deeds, which are essential for maintaining cosmic order and balance.

Gnostic Sects: Certain Gnostic sects have interpreted the divine in a triadic form. For example, some Gnostic traditions speak of the unknown Father, his emanation Mother Sophia (Wisdom), and the Demiurge as key figures in their cosmology.

Mythological Trinity

Many mythologies have triads of deities that hold significant importance. .

Hindu Trinity: In Hinduism, the Trimurti consists of Brahma (the creator), Vishnu (the preserver), and Shiva (the destroyer). These deities represent the three fundamental aspects of the universe in Hindu cosmology.

Greek Mythology: The Big Three in Greek mythology refer to Zeus (king of the gods), Poseidon (god of the sea), and Hades (god of the underworld). These brothers play a significant role in Greek myths and rule over their respective domains.

Norse Mythology: In Norse mythology, a prominent trinity can be seen in Odin (the all-father and god of wisdom), Thor (god of thunder), and Loki (the trickster god). These figures are central to many Norse myths and legends.

Celtic Mythology: In Celtic mythologies, a notable trinity is often seen in the form of three goddesses. For instance, the Irish Morrigan is sometimes depicted as a trinity of goddesses: Badb, Macha, and Nemain, representing war and fate.

Slavic Mythology: The Slavic mythological trinity includes Perun (god of thunder and lightning), Veles (god of earth, waters, and the underworld), and Svarog (the celestial god of fire and blacksmithing).

Egyptian Mythology: Another example from Egyptian mythology, apart from the previously mentioned Osiris, Isis, and Horus, is the trinity of Amun, Ra, and Ptah. These gods were often combined into a single deity, Amun-Ra, representing the essential aspects of existence.

  1. The Theban Triad: This triad consisted of Amun, Mut, and Khonsu. Amun was a major god, often associated with the sun and air. Mut was his wife, a mother goddess, and Khonsu, their son, was the god of the moon.
  2. The Memphis Triad: This triad was composed of Ptah, Sekhmet, and Nefertem. Ptah was the god of creation and craftsmanship, Sekhmet, a warrior goddess and goddess of healing, and Nefertem, who was associated with the lotus flower and the sunrise.
  3. The Elephantine Triad: Featuring Khnum, Satis, and Anuket. Khnum was a god of the source of the Nile River, Satis was his consort, and Anuket, their daughter, was associated with the Nile and its nourishment of the land.
  4. The Heliopolitan Triad: Centered around Osiris, Isis, and Horus, this is one of the most famous Egyptian triads and is often linked with themes of death, resurrection, and kingship. Osiris was a god of the underworld and resurrection, Isis, his wife, a goddess of magic and motherhood, and Horus, their son, a god of the sky and kingship.
  5. The Abydos Triad: This triad included Osiris, Isis, and their son Harpocrates (Horus the Child). Abydos was a major cult center for Osiris, and this triad emphasized the aspects of death and rebirth.
  6. The Edfu Triad: Horus of Edfu, Hathor, and their son Harsomtus form this triad. In Edfu, Horus was worshipped as a solar war god, Hathor as a goddess of music, dance, and fertility, and Harsomtus as a symbol of new life.
  7. The Coptos Triad: Consisting of Min, Isis, and Horus. Min was a god of fertility and harvest, Isis, his consort, brought her attributes of magic and motherhood, and Horus as their offspring, symbolizing new beginnings.
  8. The Hermopolitan Triad: This included Thoth, Seshat, and their child, Hornub. Thoth was the god of writing and knowledge, Seshat was associated with writing and architecture, and Hornub was a less well-known deity.

Sumerian Mythology: In Sumerian beliefs, the trinity of Anu (god of the sky), Enlil (god of air and storm), and Enki (god of water and knowledge) were crucial in their pantheon, often considered the most powerful deities.

Baltic Mythology: In the Baltic region, a trinity of major gods might include Dievas (supreme god), Perkūnas (god of thunder), and Velnias (god of the underworld and magic).


🌍 Discover Human History: Our 1,000,000-Year Timeline! 🌍

Explore the amazing journey of humanity with my timeline covering the last 1,000,000 years! 🕰️ Learn about ancient civilizations like Atlantis and the Aesir from the Middle East.

✨ Controversial: Our timeline is based on chronicles, readings and recent discoveries that set the date of human civilization back thousands of years.

✨ Membership Benefits: When you buy our timeline, you also get membership to our website! Join a friendly community, talk to us, and share your thoughts with other history fans.

Buy on