Home > Celestial being or Angles

Celestial being or Angles

Various religious traditions and mythologies have diverse beliefs about celestial beings or angels. Here are some examples from different traditions:

Islamic Tradition:

Malak or Malaika (Angels): In Islam, angels play a crucial role in carrying out God’s will. Among them are Jibril (Gabriel), Mikail (Michael), Israfil (Raphael), and others. Each angel has specific duties, such as delivering messages, recording deeds, and blowing the trumpet on Judgment Day.

Zoroastrian Tradition:

Amesha Spentas: In Zoroastrianism, the Amesha Spentas are divine entities or spirits that assist Ahura Mazda, the supreme god. They include entities like Vohu Manah (Good Mind) and Asha Vahishta (Best Righteousness).

Hindu Tradition:

Devas: In Hinduism, Devas are celestial beings or gods. They serve various functions and may be associated with natural elements. Examples include Indra (god of thunder and rain) and Agni (god of fire).

Buddhist Tradition:

Devas: Similar to Hinduism, Buddhism acknowledges celestial beings called Devas. These beings exist in different realms and may experience different levels of enlightenment. They are not considered eternal or all-powerful.

Greek Mythology:

Daimons (or Daemons): In Greek mythology, daimons were benevolent spirits or divine beings that could act as intermediaries between humans and the gods. They were associated with various aspects of life.

Norse Mythology:

Aesir and Vanir: In Norse mythology, the Aesir and Vanir are two groups of divine beings. They include gods like Odin, Thor, and Frigg. Other supernatural entities, such as Valkyries and Norns, also play significant roles.

Shinto Tradition:

Kami: In Shinto, Kami refers to the spirits or gods present in natural phenomena. These can include spirits associated with mountains, rivers, and other aspects of the natural world.

Native American Traditions:

Spirit Guides and Totem Animals: Various Native American cultures believe in spirit guides or totem animals, spiritual entities that provide guidance and protection.

Judaism and Christianity

Elohim, Seraphim, Cherubim

The terms “Elohim” and “Seraphim” refer to different classes of celestial beings or angels in certain religious traditions, particularly within Judaism and Christianity.

  1. Elohim:
    • The term “Elohim” is often used in the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) to refer to God. In this context, it is a plural noun that is sometimes used to emphasize the majesty and greatness of the divine. However, it’s important to note that in monotheistic traditions like Judaism and Christianity, the concept of God is singular. “Elohim” is also used to refer to angels or divine beings in some instances.
  2. Seraphim:
    • The Seraphim are a specific class of angels mentioned in the Bible, particularly in the book of Isaiah (Isaiah 6:1-7). They are described as celestial beings with six wings, and they are in the presence of God, praising and worshiping Him. The name “Seraphim” is derived from the Hebrew word “saraph,” which means “burning” or “fiery.” The imagery of fire is often associated with the intense purity and holiness of these angels.
  3. Ophanim:
    • The Ophanim, also known as the “Wheels” or “Thrones,” are considered a high order of angels in the celestial hierarchy within certain Kabbalistic teachings. The name “Ophanim” is derived from the Hebrew word “ofan,” which means “wheel” or “cycle.” They are often depicted as celestial wheels within wheels, representing complex and intricate structures.
    • Ophanim are associated with divine chariots and the mystical visions described in the book of Ezekiel in the Bible. In Ezekiel’s vision, these beings are described as having multiple eyes and wings, signifying their connection to higher spiritual realms.
  4. Chayot (Chayyot):
    • The term “Chayot” refers to living creatures or beings. In Kabbalistic tradition, the Chayot Ha-Kodesh, or “Living Creatures of Holiness,” are celestial beings associated with the divine chariot described in Ezekiel’s vision. These beings are often described as having multiple wings and faces.
    • The Chayot are considered to be guardians of the divine throne and are associated with the mystical realms and the experience of divine visions. The symbolism of their appearance is rich with esoteric meaning, and interpretations can vary among different Kabbalistic texts.
  5. Erelim:
    • The term “Erelim” is derived from Hebrew and is often translated as “Thrones” or “Powers” in English. In various angelic hierarchies, including some interpretations of Kabbalah, the Erelim are considered one of the angelic orders. They are associated with divine authority and power, and their role is often depicted as administering justice and maintaining order in the celestial realms.
  6. Hashmallim:
    • The term “Hashmallim” is derived from the Hebrew word “hashmal,” which can be translated as “amber” or “electrum,” a metallic substance. In some angelic hierarchies, particularly in Kabbalistic traditions, the Hashmallim are associated with angels or beings of a shining or glowing nature. They are often connected to the realm of fire and light, symbolizing divine radiance and energy.
  7. Malakim:
    • The term “Malakim” is the Hebrew word for “angels” and is commonly translated as such. Angels in general, regardless of specific orders or classifications, are referred to as Malakim in Hebrew. The word is used throughout various religious texts, including the Bible, to denote messengers or servants of God.
  8. Ishim
    • The term “Ishim” is another designation for a class of celestial beings or angels within certain Jewish mystical traditions, including Kabbalah. The word “Ishim” is derived from the Hebrew אִישׁ (ish), meaning “man” or “person,” and it is often translated as “men” or “beings” in the context of angelic entities.
    • In Kabbalistic cosmology, the Ishim are considered one of the lower orders of angels, and they are associated with specific aspects of the natural world. The precise attributes and roles attributed to the Ishim can vary among different Kabbalistic texts and interpretations. Generally, the Ishim are seen as benevolent and are thought to be involved in carrying out the divine will in the earthly realm.
    • The term “Ishim” appears in the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) in a few instances. For example, in the book of Genesis, there is a mention of the “sons of God” who intermingle with the daughters of men, and some interpretations identify these “sons of God” with the Ishim.