12 Kings of Atlantis

Plato, in his dialogues “Timaeus” and “Critias,” describes the legend of Atlantis and its kings. According to his account, the island of Atlantis was divided into ten regions, each ruled by a different king. These kings were the descendants of the god Poseidon and a mortal woman named Cleito. Here are the twelve Atlantean kings as described by Plato:

  1. Atlas – The eldest son of Poseidon and Cleito, Atlas was the first king and the namesake of Atlantis. He ruled the central region and the surrounding islands.
  2. Gadeirus (Eumelus in Greek) – The twin brother of Atlas, Gadeirus ruled the region adjacent to Atlas.
  3. Ampheres – Another son of Poseidon and Cleito, Ampheres was one of the ten kings who ruled the various regions of Atlantis.
  4. Evaemon – One of the kings of Atlantis, Evaemon also ruled a portion of the island.
  5. Mneseus – Another of Poseidon’s sons, Mneseus governed a region of Atlantis.
  6. Autochthon – As a king of Atlantis, Autochthon controlled one of the island’s territories.
  7. Elasippus – He was another king of Atlantis and ruled his designated region.
  8. Mestor – A son of Poseidon, Mestor was one of the ten kings of Atlantis.
  9. Azaes – Azaes, also a son of Poseidon, ruled over a part of Atlantis.
  10. Diaprepes – The last of the ten kings, Diaprepes governed his own region on the island.

In addition to these ten kings, two other figures are often associated with the ruling lineage of Atlantis:

  1. Cleito – The mortal woman who bore Poseidon’s ten sons and became the mother of the kings of Atlantis. Although not a king herself, her role is central to the dynasty.
  2. Poseidon – The god of the sea, Poseidon was the progenitor of the Atlantean kings through his union with Cleito. He is not one of the twelve mortal kings but is crucial in their lineage.

These rulers maintained control over the island of Atlantis, which was described as a powerful and advanced civilization before its eventual downfall and submersion into the sea, according to Plato’s narrative.

Adityas from the Hindu Mythology

a table that compares the twelve Atlantean kings described by Plato with the Adityas from Hindu mythology. The Adityas are a group of solar deities, sons of Aditi, and are often considered to be twelve in number. Here is the comparison:

Atlantean KingsAdityas (Hindu Mythology)Description
AtlasVarunaAtlas is the eldest king of Atlantis, while Varuna is the god of the oceans and cosmic order.
Gadeirus (Eumelus)MitraGadeirus ruled an adjacent region, similar to how Mitra is associated with friendship and contracts.
AmpheresAryamanAmpheres, a ruler of Atlantis, compared to Aryaman, who represents nobility and patronage.
EvaemonBhagaEvaemon governed a region, akin to Bhaga, the god of wealth and prosperity.
MneseusAnsaMneseus, a king of Atlantis, related to Ansa, a lesser-known Aditya.
AutochthonDhataAutochthon ruled a territory, while Dhata is associated with creation.
ElasippusTvashtarElasippus governed a region, similar to Tvashtar, the artisan god.
MestorSavitrMestor ruled part of Atlantis, like Savitr, associated with the sun and inspiration.
AzaesPushaAzaes, an Atlantean king, compared to Pusha, the protector of journeys and herds.
DiaprepesVivasvatDiaprepes ruled a region, while Vivasvat is associated with the sun and father of Yama.
Poseidon (progenitor)Vishnu (as Aditya)Poseidon, the progenitor god, compared to Vishnu, one of the Adityas and a major deity in Hinduism.
Cleito (mother, not king)Aditi (mother of Adityas)Cleito, mother of the Atlantean kings, compared to Aditi, mother of the Adityas.

This table draws parallels between the Atlantean kings from Plato’s works and the Adityas from Hindu mythology based on their roles and attributes.

Home > 12 Kings of Atlantis