The 6 Elohim

The term “Elohim” is a Hebrew word that is often translated as “God” in the context of the Hebrew Bible.

However, in some traditions and interpretations, particularly in Kabbalistic and mystical traditions, “Elohim” can refer to multiple divine beings or aspects of God.

Kabbalistic Interpretation

In Kabbalah, the term “Elohim” is associated with the sefirot, which are aspects or emanations of God’s attributes. While there are ten sefirot in total, six of them could be specifically associated with different aspects of the divine:

  • Chesed (Kindness)
  • Gevurah (Judgment)
  • Tiferet (Beauty)
  • Netzach (Eternity)
  • Hod (Glory)
  • Yesod (Foundation)

Angelological Interpretation

In some mystical traditions, Elohim might refer to a class of angels or divine beings. In this context, six specific Elohim could be particular angels or divine beings with specific roles or attributes.

In angelology, particularly within certain mystical and esoteric traditions, the term “Elohim” might refer to a class of powerful angels or divine beings. While mainstream angelology typically does not enumerate six specific Elohim, certain interpretations and traditions may identify specific high-ranking angels that could be considered part of such a group. These might include:

  1. Michael: Often considered the chief of all angels, Michael is known as a protector and warrior against evil forces.
  2. Gabriel: A messenger angel, Gabriel is known for delivering important messages from God to humans.
  3. Raphael: Known as the healing angel, Raphael is often associated with health and well-being.
  4. Uriel: Often associated with wisdom and enlightenment, Uriel is considered an angel of wisdom and light.
  5. Raguel: Known as the angel of justice and harmony, Raguel oversees the behavior of other angels and maintains order.
  6. Sariel: Sometimes referred to as the angel of guidance, Sariel is associated with the guidance of souls and knowledge.

Historical/Cultural Interpretation

Some historical or cultural interpretations might identify six specific deities or divine beings from ancient Near Eastern religions, but these would not be the same as the Elohim mentioned in the Hebrew Bible.

Home > The 6 Elohim