Home > Pentacost


Work in Progress – See Path of InitiationJesus initiation

  • Passion of Jesus Christ (40-day period of fasting, prayer, and penance)
  • Crucifixion of Jesus (1st day)
  • Jesus was raised from the dead (3rd day)
  • The Burial of Jesus (3rd day)
  • Easter (Pascha) – Resurrection of Jesus from the dead
  • Passover
  • Pentacost
  • The Feast of Weeks

Pentecost is a significant event in Christianity that commemorates the descent of the Holy Spirit upon the apostles and other followers of Jesus Christ while they were in Jerusalem celebrating the Feast of Weeks, as described in the second chapter of the Acts of the Apostles. This event took place fifty days after Easter Sunday (inclusive). Thus, it is celebrated on the fiftieth day after Easter.

The name “Pentecost” comes from the Greek word “pentēkostē,” which means “fiftieth.” It marks the conclusion of the Easter season and is considered the birthday of the Christian Church, because it was the moment when the apostles went out into the streets to preach Jesus’ message, which led to the spreading of Christianity.

The descent of the Holy Spirit is said to have occurred in the form of fiery tongues, enabling the apostles to speak in different languages, and it gave them the courage and power to begin their ministry. Today, Pentecost is celebrated with various customs around the world, including masses, prayers, processions, and, in some cultures, specific rituals and decorations.

The Feast of Weeks

The Feast of Weeks, also known as Shavuot in Hebrew, is an important Jewish holiday that occurs seven weeks after Passover. This period, counting seven full weeks, is known as the Counting of the Omer. Shavuot marks the conclusion of this period of counting, and its name, “Weeks,” refers to the completion of these seven weeks.

Shavuot has a dual significance: it commemorates the anniversary of the day God gave the Torah to the entire nation of Israel assembled at Mount Sinai, although the association between the giving of the Torah and Shavuot is not explicit in the biblical text. It is also a harvest festival, originally a thanksgiving for the first fruits of the wheat harvest in Israel. In biblical times, Jews were required to bring the first fruits of their harvest to the Temple in Jerusalem as an offering to God.

Traditionally, Shavuot is celebrated by studying the Torah, attending synagogue services, and reading the Book of Ruth, which reflects themes of kindness and the gathering of grain. It is also customary to decorate homes and synagogues with greenery and to eat dairy foods. The reasons for the dairy tradition are varied and include symbolic interpretations related to the biblical verses and the simplicity of preparation for a holiday that follows closely after the Sabbath.

the Gospel of Matthew mentions:

  • An earthquake
  • Resurrected saints who went to the city
  • Roman soldiers were assigned to guard the tomb

According to the First Epistle to the Corinthians (1 Corinthians 15:4), Jesus was raised from the dead (“on the third day” counting the day of crucifixion as the first)

The account given in Acts of the Apostles says that Jesus remained with the apostles for 40 days, whereas the account in the Gospel of Luke makes no clear distinction between the events of Easter Sunday and the Ascension.

In Mark, Jesus is crucified along with two rebels, and the sun goes dark or is obscured for three hours. Jesus calls out to God, then gives a shout and dies. The curtain of the Temple is torn in two.