Home > Map of Consiousness

Map of Consiousness

The Map of Consciousness is a conceptual framework created by Dr. David R. Hawkins, a psychiatrist and spiritual teacher, to quantify and categorize different levels of human consciousness and their corresponding characteristics. This framework is presented in his book “Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior.”

Key Elements of the Map of Consciousness

Levels of Consciousness:

    • The Map of Consciousness is a logarithmic scale ranging from 1 to 1,000, with each level representing a different state of consciousness or energy field.
    • Lower levels (below 200) are associated with negative states such as shame, guilt, apathy, fear, and anger.
    • Levels around 200 represent a critical threshold, where the shift from negative (destructive) to positive (constructive) energy occurs.
    • Higher levels (above 200) correspond to positive states such as courage, neutrality, willingness, acceptance, love, joy, peace, and enlightenment.

    Calibration Method:

      • Hawkins developed a technique called muscle testing (applied kinesiology) to determine the level of consciousness of a person, idea, object, or event.
      • According to his method, the body’s muscle response (strong or weak) indicates the truth or falsehood of a statement, which can be used to calibrate its level of consciousness.

      Description of Levels:

        • 20 (Shame): Feelings of humiliation and worthlessness.
        • 30 (Guilt): Self-recrimination and a sense of wrongdoing.
        • 50 (Apathy): Hopelessness and despair.
        • 75 (Grief): Regret and sadness.
        • 100 (Fear): Anxiety and worry.
        • 125 (Desire): Craving and longing.
        • 150 (Anger): Resentment and frustration.
        • 175 (Pride): Righteousness and arrogance.
        • 200 (Courage): Empowerment and the capacity to face challenges.
        • 250 (Neutrality): Flexibility and non-judgment.
        • 310 (Willingness): Optimism and intention to contribute.
        • 350 (Acceptance): Realization of a harmonious state with reality.
        • 400 (Reason): Rationality and understanding.
        • 500 (Love): Unconditional love and compassion.
        • 540 (Joy): Serenity and compassion.
        • 600 (Peace): Perfect inner stillness and peace.
        • 700-1,000 (Enlightenment): Highest states of consciousness, spiritual transcendence.

        Purpose and Applications

        The Map of Consciousness is intended to serve as a tool for self-awareness and personal development. It suggests that by understanding and increasing one’s level of consciousness, individuals can improve their quality of life, relationships, and overall well-being. It is also used to analyze and understand the collective consciousness of groups, societies, and humanity as a whole.